Another Title For The Jimmies

October 9th, 2017 | by admin
Another Title For The Jimmies
Club News

St. James’ Junior A team continued their successful run by claiming the Ard Ri House Hotel Division 5 North title on Saturday evening in Cregg, Corrandulla. They defeated a strong Mountbellew-Moylough side that was top of the league table for most of the season. Having already claimed the West Board Junior A championship title two weeks previously, however, the city side had reason to be confident going into this league final. It is also worth noting that the St. James’ men had defeated the Mountbellew-Moylough side in their last league match in what proved to be a tough battle. So, all in all, Saturday’s match had the makings of an entertaining encounter.
Mountbellew-Moylough made life difficult for the St. James’ backs in the early stages of the first half. They had runners attacking from deep who were able to score. Building a score 1-03, the men from north Galway were in a strong position after 15 minutes. St. James’ kept in touch with two points. The city side began to tighten its defence with veteran player, Mark Kelly, directing the play. The midfield partnership of Alan Hanley and Josh MacFarlane took control and the forwards hit a purple patch in which they scored 1-08. All the fowards worked extremely hard to bring St. James’ back into the game. The goal was scored by Ronan O’Connell who got on the end of a high ball from wing-back, Ryan Doherty. The score at half-time was St. James’ 1:10, Mountbellew-Moylough 1:05.
The second half proved to be tight, with both defences working very hard. Ultimately Mountbellew-Moylough would outscore St James’ by 0:05 to 0:04 in the second period of time but it wouldn’t be enough to take tge spoils.
The introduction of Paudie Conlon, Cillian Breathnach and Keith Murphy brought strength and purpose to the St. James’ team. When the referee, Gerry Daly, blew the final whistle, the score was St. James’ 1:14, Mountbellew-Moylough 1:10. The city team was presented with the cup and Ronan O’Connell, who finished with 1:04, was awarded the man of the match trophy. Robert Carroll, Philip Ryan, Alan Hanley and Sean Boyle all scored two points each, while Darragh Lundy and Josh MacFarlane scored a point each.
St. James’ will bid to end their season on a major high when they take on Corofin in the Junior A football final in the coming weeks.

The St. James’ team was: Nigel Walsh, Daragh Connolly, Mark Kelly, Sean Byrne (captain), Paddy McKernon, Shane Gillespie, Ryan Doherty, Josh MacFarlane, Alan Hanley, Philip Ryan, Robert Carroll, Darragh Lundy, Sean Boyle, Ronan O’Connell and Keith Jordan.

Comments are closed.

St James GAA Club