Jimmy Newell Steps Down – AGM 2023

After spending nine years at the helm of the club, chairman of St. James’ GAA, Jimmy Newell steps down. Newell has been an intangible asset to the club and he was the leading light in the formation of St. James’ GAA in 1994. Jimmy was there from the very beginning and spent six years serving the different roles at the top table and these included; chairman, secretary and treasurer. He managed the Jimmies in the early years and gave outstanding service as a volunteer.
Newell succeeded former chairman Peter Bennett in 2015 and went on to lead the club close to a decade. In those years, he paved the pathway to success. He implemented strategic planning and set targets (short term and long term goals) for the club. We thank him for all his time and effort with the club. No doubt Jimmy will be greatly missed but his expertise will still used as he serves on sub committees in the club.
At the AGM, the following officers were elected:
Chairperson: Olga Concar Murphy
Vice-Charmain: Dave Henry
Secretary: Pat Burke
Treasurer: Tony Hanley
Assistant Treasurer: Des O’Dowd
PRO: Dave Henry & Denise Shaughnessy
Registrar & Insurance: Peter Bennett
Culture Officer: Jim Cotter
DLP: Gary Casey
Children’s Officer: Shane Igoe
Healthy Club Officer: Alan Cheevers
Club Delegate: Sean Connor
Other positions to be filled include; Coaching Officer, Assistant Secretary, and Assistant Registrar.